Finding research on Black Lives Matter will require you to use a variety of interdisciplinary resources, as well as sources of information that may not traditionally be considered 'scholarly' or 'academic' that are nonetheless extremely useful for searching on this subject - like social media. Included on this page are some suggestions as to how you can best tailor your searching to find the resources you are looking for.
If you need assistance in locating materials or planning your research, please contact your liaison librarian for Africana Studies. Contact information is located in the box to the left-side of the screen
On this page you will find links to a variety of resources that can help provide a general overview of the Black Lives Matter movement, or that may connect you with key resources in this area of study. Many of these links will take you to resources outside of Tredway Library, including to a number of archival resources.
Finding information that directly comes from the communities and/or individuals who have lived the experiences you are researching is often the best place to start when researching Black Lives Matter. Below are listed some of the many community archives that have been created to document and preserve information directly related to the movement and its activities.
On this page you will find links to a variety of interviews, both written and oral, that have been conducted with individuals who are a part of the Black Lives Matter movement.
Tredway library does not have any specific journals that only feature exclusively resources on Black Lives Matter, since it is a topic that spans across many areas of study. However, listed here are some journals that you may find resources on the movement within.
| Journal Name | Years Available |
| African American Review | 1992 - present |
| The Annals of the American Academy of Political and Social Science | 1890 - present |
| Journal of Black Studies | 1970 - present |
| The Journal of Pan-African Studies | 1987 - present |
| Journal of Popular Culture | 1997 - present |
| Research in African Literatures | 1970 - present |
What's included?
*Full access to reference books covering multiple subject areas
Racism in America by
This book explains how race, once a differentiating factor, became a major basis for stratification in the United States that pervaded scientific thought, religious doctrine, governmental policy, and the patterned actions of decision-makers in all sectors of social life. Racism in America: A Reference Handbook diverges from the typical focus of accounts of racism on interpersonal prejudice and discrimination to situate racism within structural processes to demonstrate the systematic nature of racial discrimination. Racial progress, though notable, has largely addressed symptoms of the racialized social system rather than tackling the ways in which the system is inherently patterned to benefit whites. This book provides evidence that racial discrimination is not an occasional decision made by individuals. The book provides readers with a background and history of race in America; a thorough treatment of the problems, controversies, and solutions related to race; a perspectives section including essays from experts in a variety of related fields; profiles of important people and organizations; and a section dedicated to data and documents. Its organizational strategy benefits the reader, first explaining core concepts and providing context for racism in America before moving into more specific applications in the work of relevant experts and providing directions for further study. Provides readers with a structural analysis of how racism is embedded in the foundations of American society Combines academic research on racism in America with perspectives from attorneys, activists, religious leaders, and others with experiences of institutional racism Provides a sociologically grounded explanation of racism that demonstrates how racism in America was not arbitrary or solely interpersonal but rather planned, organized, and, at times, remarkably sophisticated in transferring power from racial minorities to whites Includes a chronology of milestone events alongside resources for further study
Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice by
The Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice contains over 300 entries alphabetically arranged for straightforward and convenient use by scholars and general readers alike. This reference is a comprehensive and systematic collection of designated entries that describe, in detail, important diversity and social justice themes. Thompson, assisted by a network of contributors and consultants, provides a centralized source and convenient way to discover the modern meaning, richness, and significance of diversity and social justice language, while offering a balanced viewpoint. This book reveals the unique nature of the language of diversity and social justice and makes the connection between how this language influences--negatively and positively--institutions and society. The terms have been carefully chosen in order to present the common usage of words and themes that dominate our daily conversations about these topics. Entries range from original research to synopses of existing scholarship. These discussions provide alternative views to popular doctrines and philosophical truths, and include many of the most popular terms used in current conversations on the topic, from ageism to xenophobia. This reference covers cultural, social, and political vernacular to offer an historical perspective as well. With contributions from experts in various fields, the entries consist of topics that represent a wider context among a diverse community of people from every walk of life.