LibGuides: FYI 101/2: Traylor: FYI 102: Farooqi

Welcome

Welcome! You've reached the FYI 102 (Farooqi) course page dedicated to providing library support for assignments in your class. Your class will meet twice in the library during the spring term, covering the following topics:

Feb 28: Misinformation and evaluating sources.
May 6: Research support day.

This page will also include some "best bet" databases for supporting your research in this class.

Library Lesson 1: Feb 28

Today we will primarily discuss misinformation and strategies for evaluating sources. Much of this information can be found in the Evaluating Sources section of this guide, and you will also get a printed handout covering key points from the material in class.

We will also start class with the "Spot the Troll" activity from Clemson University and take our discussion from there.

Library Lesson 2: May 6

Today we will be focusing on providing hands-on research time for you to get started on your research assignment with a librarian available to ask questions and provide help. To briefly summarize the assignment:

You will be writing a research paper about identity. If you haven't chosen a topic, consider consulting the library's topics guide for ideas. This paper will be 8-10+ pages in length. You will have received further information about the assignment from your professor.

This assignment will require:

At least four (4) quality sources outside of class resources to support your thesis.
Citations in MLA style.

Best Bets

Although OneSearch is an excellent starting point for most research, consider the following specific databases/resources:

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
The premier database for research on the history of the United States and Canada.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, newsletters, and bulletins from the American Anthropological Association (AAA).

Anti-Racism Resources
Tredway Library resource guide dedicated to anti-racism.

ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Citations to journal articles, book reviews, and essays in all fields of religion along with full-text access to over 340 religion and theology journals.
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
References western-language articles and book chapters published since 1971 pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia.
Black Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
Streaming videos featuring award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States.
All programming includes public performance rights.
Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of sexual diversity issues containing more than 921,000 records spanning from 1972 to the present.
Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
A bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 2,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window
A source of over 335,000 journal article citations, HAPI provides complete bibliographic citations to the contents of scholarly journals published around the world on Latin America and the Caribbean since the late 1960s. Coverage includes everything from political, economic, and social issues to the arts and humanities.

LGBTQIA+ Resources
Tredway Library resource guide dedicated to LGBTQIA+.

PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Articles from all of the publications of the American Psychological Association.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology and related fields going back to 1887.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires Since 1820 This link opens in a new window
Explores prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women’s voices. With a clear focus on bringing the voices of the colonized to the forefront, this highly-curated archive and database.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
A resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000.