LibGuides: FYI 101/2: Traylor: FYH 102: Strunk

Welcome

Welcome! You've reached the FYH 102 (Strunk) course page dedicated to providing library support for assignments in your class. Your class will meet twice in the library during the spring term, covering the following topics:

Mar 7: Research support day.
Apr 11: Misinformation and evaluating sources.

This page will also include some "best bet" databases for supporting your research in this class.

Library Lesson 2: Apr 11

Today we will primarily discuss misinformation and strategies for evaluating sources. Much of this information can be found in the Evaluating Sources section of this guide, and you will also get a printed handout covering key points from the material in class.

We will also start class with the "Spot the Troll" activity from Clemson University and take our discussion from there.

You have also been assigned a group poster research project for which you will need to complete a short literature review including information on your chosen topics from scientists, scholars, public health officials, and other relevant authorities, and at least one graphic from an authoritative source (or created based on your research). We will have some time to start research and/or evaluate sources you have found so far.

Best Bets

Although OneSearch is an excellent starting point for most research, consider the following specific databases/resources:

Food Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Provides researchers rich archival content, visual ephemera, monographs, and videos that explore how food shapes the world around us. Food studies is a relatively new field of study, but its importance is felt in many major disciplines. It has social, historical, economic, cultural, religious, and political implications that reach far beyond what is consumed at the dinner table.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Covers information on many health topics including medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, newsletters, and bulletins from the American Anthropological Association (AAA).
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
The premier database for research on the history of the United States and Canada.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni, the successor of LexisNexis Academic, provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources.The outstanding news coverage includes deep archives and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language news services. Use the Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures or identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations service for all federal and state court cases 1789-present.
To access Nexis Uni from off-campus, you must first register (create an account) while on campus.
1. Access Nexis Uni through the Augustana College library website (choose “Databases A-Z” from the drop-down menu at the bottom).
2. Click Sign In / Register in the top right.
3. Click Create a profile now on the right.
4. Enter your name and your Augustana email address.
5. Complete the sign-in profile.
6. After the username and password you have entered is verified, it will become active.
From off-campus, USE THIS LINK to access Nexis Uni (scroll down to find "Nexis Uni" on the landing page).
Keeping your access active: In order to keep access active, users are required to sign in from an on-campus computer or device every six months to maintain authorization.
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and full text coverage to over 1,000 of business, management, accounting, finance, and economics journals. More than 10,000 company profiles are included from Datamonitor.